Nevada Car Insurance Cost, Requirements, and Quotes
Get answers to your questions about the average cost of car insurance in Nevada
It can be fun to take risks in Las Vegas or Reno—but it’s an awful idea to gamble with your car insurance in Nevada. Here’s what you need to know about what types of coverage you’ll need in the Silver State, how much it costs, and more.
What is the average cost of car insurance in Nevada?
Nevada’s average car insurance rate is $116 per month or $1,388 per year. But your actual rate will end up being as individual as you are. You car insurance quotes go up or down depending on factors like the type of policy you choose, its deductible, and what kind of car you drive, as well as your driving record.
What are Nevada’s auto insurance laws?
Do not get caught uncovered. You need a Nevada Evidence of Insurance Card to even register your vehicle, and you need to have it in your car at all times when driving in Nevada. If you can’t show proof of auto liability insurance, your vehicle registration will be suspended and you won’t be able to drive on public streets anymore.
What are Nevada minimum car insurance requirements?
As of July 1, 2018, you must carry the following minimum car insurance coverages in Nevada:
$25,000 of coverage for the death or injury of any individual
$50,000 total coverage for the death or injury of two or more people in a single accident
Property Damage Liability coverage (for damage to someone else’s property)
$20,000 of coverage for damage if you hit someone else’s vehicle or property
Know, too, that Nevada’s DMV’s LIVE program occasionally checks up by asking your insurer if you have liability insurance.
Is there a new car insurance grace period in Nevada?
Not even a little bit. Let your insurance lapse just one day in Nevada, and you could face a fine.
My teenager just got a learner’s permit. Is insurance necessary?
Congratulations! They grow up fast, don’t they? Nevada simply verifies that a vehicle is insured under the owner’s name, so you don’t need coverage for a teen who’s driving with a permit. But it’s a good idea to talk to your insurance agent about their specific policy regarding drivers with learner’s permits.
How old do you have to be to get a Nevada driver’s license?
In Nevada, here’s when you can get a learner’s permit or a driver’s license:
Age 14 Restricted driver’s license (for a family medical hardship or for school transportation in remote areas)
Age 15½ Learner’s permit
Age 16 Driver’s license
How can my teenager get a Nevada driver’s license?
If kids want to hit the road, they need to make it to class.. Anyone younger than 18 applying for a driver’s permit or license must meet the minimum Nevada school attendance requirements and submit a certification of attendance form to prove it. They must also:
Complete a 30-hour driver’s education course (in a classroom or online)
Perform at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training (including 10 hours after dark)
Pass a knowledge test
Pass a vision test
Need a to know how much your car insurance will cost in Nevada?
The availability, qualifications, and amounts of coverages, costs and discounts may vary from state to state and there may be coverages and discounts not listed here. In addition, other terms, conditions, and exclusions not described above may apply, and total savings may vary depending on the coverages purchased. For more information regarding your eligibility for certain coverages and savings opportunities, please contact your AAA agent. Insurance products in California offered by AAA Northern California Insurance Agency. License #0175868, in Nevada by AAA Nevada and in Utah by AAA Utah. Insurance provided by CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA insurer.