Utah Car Insurance Laws, Rates, and Quotes
Everything you need to know about Utah's car insurance laws.
Driving gives you the ultimate freedom to explore Utah’s wonders, whether you’re headed to majestic Zion National Park, iconic Monument Valley, or a gorgeous ski-country playground like Park City. Wherever you decide to drive in Utah, it’s important to have your car’s paperwork in order.
Here are some guidelines for staying safe and legal while driving in Utah:
What are average car insurance rates in Utah?
On average, car insurance in Utah costs $99 per month or $1,192 per year. But your specific car insurance quote will be as individual as you are, and will depend on which policy you choose, its deductible, what kind of car you drive, as well as your driving record.
What are Utah car insurance laws?
In Utah, you need to make sure you’re covered before hopping in to drive a car. Utah maintains a thorough database that matches vehicle registrations against insurance policies on file. If you’re caught without car insurance, the DMV could fine you, suspend your vehicle’s registration, and suspend your driver’s license too.
What are Utah auto insurance minimum coverage requirements?
In Utah, you must carry the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Bodily Injury Liability coverage (for injuries you cause to other people)
$25,000 of coverage for the death or injury of any individual
$65,000 total coverage for the death or injury of two or more people in a single accident
Property Damage Liability coverage (for damage to someone else’s property)
$15,000 of coverage for damage if you hit someone else’s vehicle or property
No-fault coverage (pays for medical bills if you or your passengers are injured)
$3,000 of coverage for the death or injury of any individual
Is there a new car insurance grace period in Utah?
No, afraid not. If you're buying a new vehicle, you must have auto insurance coverage before you drive it off the lot.
My teenager just got a learner’s permit. Do we need to get auto insurance?
Job well done! You don’t need coverage for your teenage driver until he or she gets a license, but it’s a good idea to talk to your insurance company about their specific policy regarding drivers with learner’s permits.
How old do you have to be to get a Utah driver’s license?
In Utah, here’s when you can get a learner’s permit or a driver’s license:
Age 15 - Provisional driver’s license, also known as a learner’s permit
Age 16 - Driver’s license
How can my teenager get a Utah learner’s permit and driver’s license?
Teens under 18 in Utah get their learner’s permit by passing a written test and a vision screening, completing a medical questionnaire, and proof of age, citizenship, residence, and parental permission. To get a driver’s license, teenagers in Utah must have held a learner’s permit for a minimum of 6 months and taken part in the following:
Either 30 hours of an online or at-home class, or 27 hours of classroom instruction
Behind-the-wheel training for at least 6 hours
Driving observation for at least 6 hours
Once they’ve taken a driver’s education class and had their sweet 16, they need to take an online exam, pass another vision screening, as well as a driving test to get their driver’s license.
Need car insurance quote in Utah?
The availability, qualifications, and amounts of coverages, costs and discounts may vary from state to state and there may be coverages and discounts not listed here. In addition, other terms, conditions, and exclusions not described above may apply, and total savings may vary depending on the coverages purchased. For more information regarding your eligibility for certain coverages and savings opportunities, please contact your AAA agent. Insurance products in California offered by AAA Northern California Insurance Agency. License #0175868, in Nevada by AAA Nevada and in Utah by AAA Utah. Insurance provided by CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA insurer.