The Cost of Your First DUI

California, Nevada and Utah have different laws

These days, state DUI laws are truly sobering.

AAA encourages you to know the serious consequences of DUI offenses by knowing the law. The safest and wisest course is not to drink at all if you plan to drive. This information is subject to periodic legislative updates.

In California:

California is a zero-tolerance state, making it illegal for drivers under 21 to reach or exceed a .05% blood alcohol level (BAC). The illegal BAC is .08% for drivers 21 and older.

• One year without a driver license if under 21

• Four months without a driver license if 21 and older

• $22,500 in fees and fines*

• 48 hours jail time

• Three-year probation

• Must install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on all vehicles you own or operate in Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento and Tulare counties. It is at the discretion of the court in all other counties.

• Loss of “good driver” status for 10 years and two points on driving record

• Auto insurance policy could be cancelled or subjected to increased rates

• 15 weeks DUI classes* and two DUI Impact classes

• Additional medical and car repair bills if in a collision, potential felony drunk driving charges if someone is injured or killed, possible job loss and the total of your vehicle.

Download Cost of Your First DUI brochure - California Law, English and Spanish (PDF 142KB)

In Nevada:

The illegal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit in Nevada is .02% for drivers under 21. The illegal BAC is .08% for 21 and older. Drivers can also be arrested for any detectable amount of controlled or prohibited substances.

• Three months without a driver license

• Up to $10,000 in fines and fees

• Two days to six months in jail or community service

• Attorneys fees starting at $500

• Auto insurance policy could be cancelled or subjected to increased rates

• SR-22 Certificate of Liability Insurance required for three years

• Eight hours in DUI Driver’s School

• Mandatory alcohol and drug abuse evaluation

• Possible court-ordered installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)

• 10 years on driving record

• If you injure or kill someone, two to 20 years in prison and potential felony drunk driving charges. Additional medical and car repair bills if in a collision, possible job loss and the total of your vehicle.

Download Cost of Your First DUI brochure - Nevada Law, English and Spanish (PDF 142KB)

In Utah:

As of 2010, Utah is a zero-tolerance state. If a chemical test determines that an under-21 driver has a blood alcohol content (BAC) above 00.00%, the driver can be cited for driving under the influence. The illegal BAC doesn’t rise to .08% until you turn 21.

• 1 year or more without a driver's license if you're under 21

• 90 days without a license (21 and older)

• Up to $12,000 in fees and fines*

• 48 hours in jail

• 10 years on driving record

• Up to $1,500 annual auto insurance increase

• Up to $2,500 for ignition interlock for 3 years. Interlock prevents drivers from starting the vehicle if there is alcohol on their breath

• Screening, assessment, educational or alcohol treatment program

• Two hours in handcuffs

• Lots of time at the DMV

Download Cost of Your First DUI brochure - Utah Law, English and Spanish (PDF 142KB)

 

WORST OF ALL: lifelong guilt if you hurt or kill another person

*depending on your judicial district

Contact Us

1-800-922-8228
M-F 7am-9pm
Sat-Sun 7am-7pm
Email Us

Close